Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 arithmetic tutor
Index -> Programming, Turing -> Turing Help
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
Misha

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:07 pm   Post subject: arithmetic tutor

hi, i am new to turing and i need help with a question. the question is as follows.

Write a program that acts as an arithmetic tutor. The program should randomly pick two numbers and an operation (addition, subtraction, or multiplication) and should ask the user to answer a question involving the numbers and the operation. If the user answers incorrectly, the question should be repeated until it is answered correctly. The program should display the amount of guesses it took the user to answer the question correctly. The program should also ask the user if he/she wishes to continue after each question.

for now this is the code i have and i don't know how to do the rest.

code:

%------------------------------------------
% arithmetic tutor
% Date Written Oct 4
%
% input: answer to the numbers and the operation
% output: displays if user is correct or incorrect
% Process: ask the user for answer
%-----------------------------------------

% Display Variables
var wer, wer2 : int
var ope : int
var ans : int

% Ask for input
loop
randomize
randint (wer, 1,10)
randint (wer2, 1,10)
put "please answer this question"
get ans
exit when ans = 
end loop

please help

thanx
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Genesis

PostPosted: Mon Oct 04, 2004 8:39 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Read the comments in the code:

code:

%Display Variables

%Variables for the 2 random numbers to be generated, the random operation, the correct answer, as well as the users guess:
var rand1, rand2, randop, answer, guess : int