Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 How do I make columns in a table align?
Index -> Programming, Turing -> Turing Help
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
dampflames

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 3:48 pm   Post subject: How do I make columns in a table align?

I'm a total beginner, and I tried to find a tutorial on this... So, how can I make columns align? Without using the "locate" command or anything.
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Dan

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 4:12 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

If you are just using simple text then i whoul use tabs. If u put a \t in a string it will act as a tab and alow u to do better spacing for a table:

code:

put "1\t2\t3\t4\t5"
put "Dan\tTony\tMazer\tHomer\toctopi"
put "Dark\tBlade\tDelta\tAsian\tdodge"
put "naoki\trizzix\tmailer\tDanS.\tshorthair"
put "wtd\tCervantes"

Only problem is if the text is to long and gose in to the next cell it will push everything over. To solve that i whould use 2 '\t's rather then one.
Computer Science Canada Help with programming in C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB and more!
dampflames

PostPosted: Wed Sep 15, 2004 8:14 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Hacker Dan wrote:
If you are just using simple text then i whoul use tabs. If u put a \t in a string it will act as a tab and alow u to do better spacing for a table:

code:

put "1\t2\t3\t4\t5"
put "Dan\tTony\tMazer\tHomer\toctopi"
put "Dark\tBlade\tDelta\tAsian\tdodge"
put "naoki\trizzix\tmailer\tDanS.\tshorthair"
put "wtd\tCervantes"

Only problem is if the text is to long and gose in to the next cell it will push everything over. To solve that i whould use 2 '\t's rather then one.

But 3 wouldn't be aligned "to the right" over Mazer and Delta beneath it, would it?
Cervantes