Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Help with a fractions program
Index -> Programming, Turing -> Turing Help
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
poly

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2003 9:33 pm   Post subject: Help with a fractions program

Hey guys, Im pretty new to turing and new to these boards and I am in need of help for a program that we wrote in class the other day. The teacher handed us a few problems and told us to write them up, we didnt have to, but they were extra practice. Anywho I got stumped on this one question. What we need to do is write a program (in turing of coarse) that will add 2 fractions that the user inputs and than outputs the answer. well that was easy, heres my code for it
code:
% All the program variables
var fTop, fBottom, sTop, sBottom : int

% Now getting the 2 fractions from user
put "Enter the first fraction (enter Numerator, space, enter denominator) " ..
get fTop, fBottom
put "Enter the second fraction (enter Numerator, space, enter denominator) " ..
get sTop, sBottom

% Spacer
put ""

% This will show the user their 2 fractions with a '+' between the 2
put fTop, "/", fBottom, " + ", sTop, "/", sBottom

% This will add the 2 fractions and output answer
put "= ", (fTop * sBottom) + (sTop * fBottom), "/", (fBottom * sBottom)

so say the user inputs 3/4 and 5/12 it would look like...
3/4 + 5/12 = 56/48

Now how would I write something to round the fraction? would i use IF statement... could somebody (if you have some free time) pelase write me what I would put for the program to round the fraction if the fraction could be rounded
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Blade

PostPosted: Sun Mar 30, 2003 9:41 pm   Post subject: (No subject)