Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Turing hangman game - Replace characters in a string
Index -> Programming, Turing -> Turing Help
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
adriian

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:13 pm   Post subject: Turing hangman game - Replace characters in a string

What is it you are trying to achieve?
I'm very new to coding and I'm trying to make a hangman game.

What is the problem you are having?
I can't figure out how to replace certain characters in the variable "dashes" with the correct letters that the user inputs.

Describe what you have tried to solve this problem
Nothing as I don't know where to go with this.

Post any relevant code (You may choose to attach the file instead of posting the code if it is too long)
Please see the comments in my code below for further details.

Turing:

var word, letter, displayAnswer, dashes : string
displayAnswer := ""
dashes := ""
put "Welcome to Hangman by Samson."
put "What word would you like to guess? " ..
get word
for i : 1 .. length (word)
    dashes := dashes + "-" %Dashes will be replaced with the correct letters that they guess
end for
loop
    exit when (displayAnswer = word)

put "Please enter a letter to guess " ..
    get letter

for x : 1 .. length (word)
        if letter = word (x) then
            dashes := dashes + letter %Here, I want to make it so that if their letter is within the word chosen, it will replace the dashes with their letter at the same position.
            put dashes

else
            displayAnswer := displayAnswer + "-"
            put displayAnswer

end if
    end for
end loop

Please specify what version of Turing you are using
Turing 4.1.1
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Insectoid