Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 How to make the ball bounce, without using anything too complicated (no whatdotcolor or maxy,maxx) I want to find a simp
Index -> Programming, Turing -> Turing Help
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
chandrapanta

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 3:55 pm   Post subject: How to make the ball bounce, without using anything too complicated (no whatdotcolor or maxy,maxx) I want to find a simp

Here is my code, I am new to Turing so i need to use simple things. How can i make the ball bounce from wall to wall. Basically I am trying to make a ping pong game so yeah!

var x, y : int := 10
var score, score2 : int := 0
setscreen ("graphics:900;600")
loop
x := x + 2
y := y + 2
delay (50)
cls
drawfilloval (x, y, 5, 5, red)
if y >= 590 then
x := 600-50
y := 590
end if
if y <= 0 then
x := x + 5
y := y + 10
end if
if x <= 0 then
score := score + 1
elsif x >= 900 then

score2 := score2 + 1
end if
exit when score = 10 or score2 = 10
end loop
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Nathan4102

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 4:42 pm   Post subject: RE:How to make the ball bounce, without using anything too complicated (no whatdotcolor or maxy,maxx) I want to find a s

For something like this, you don't want to be working in only position. Instead, keep track of velocity and adjust position based on velocity. Start with a constant velocity and have it switch when you hit a wall. When that works, you can try to factor in gravity.
chandrapanta

PostPosted: Thu Dec 24, 2015 8:04 pm   Post subject: RE:How to make the ball bounce, without using anything too complicated (no whatdotcolor or maxy,maxx) I want to find a s