Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 A question regarding a thesis
Index -> Programming, General Programming -> Functional Programming
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
Beerdude26

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 11:34 am   Post subject: A question regarding a thesis

Note: This is not a request for a homework solution, it is a request for research.

Greetings,

I am a Belgian student at the Katholieke Hogeschool Mechelen (KHM) and am investigating the strengths and weaknesses of functional programming and imperative programming and the inherent differences between the two.

I thought of conducting my research in the following manner:
1) Make a Requirements Analysis for one or more programs. The programs will be simple (such as ordering a list of strings, performing mathematical functions on a list, etc...) to understand and construct, but will contain a few pitfalls for possible bugs.

2) Look for programmers who can program in a functional language and an imperative language, starting out with only myself. This way, I hope to receive consistent quality from each programmer and to prevent the results from getting skewed by a few bad or good entries.

3) Every programmer who is interested in participating will receive the Requirements Analyses and corresponding information and can review these documents before choosing to participate or not.