Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Is Waterloo the only option...
Index -> Student Life
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
justin6768

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:14 pm   Post subject: Is Waterloo the only option...

Hey guys,

I am a grade 12 student looking into university options for computer science. I was reading the forum and its pretty obviosly that everyone agrees that waterloo is the best. My question is are there any other good computer science universities out there? The reason that I ask is that everyone that I talk to is saying that waterloo is very boring and that I will not enjoy myself there. What universites are out there that have a good reputation but also a good social aspect? I am looking for a balance between both.

Thanks
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Tony

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 8:24 pm   Post subject: RE:Is Waterloo the only option...

Well you really have got to define your "social aspect" here. University of Toronto has a pretty good reputation (arguably, it has a better grad program). Toronto is a big city, lots more to do...

BUT, with most students in UofT living off campus (campus being almost the downtown core), it's much more problematic actually meeting people. Waterloo's community is really concentrated around it's campus, and as such I find it to be much more social, than I would have found it to be at UofT.
Latest from compsci.ca/blog: Tony's programming blog. DWITE - a programming contest.
Bobrobyn

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 9:49 pm   Post subject: Re: Is Waterloo the only option...