Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Start Of Game - Help With Controls,Movement
Index -> Programming, Turing -> Turing Help
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
Rasta Fella

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 3:05 pm   Post subject: Start Of Game - Help With Controls,Movement

Ok, I am taking Computer Science at school and it is my first year taking it. I am in grade 10 learning Turing. At school they teach us the basics loops, for, end, exit when, etc. Now summatives are approaching or for some have started. My teacher wants each student to create a game using 5 inputs; up, down, right, centre and button. I decieded to do a game in which you are a small dot (filled circle) and you must reach a certain goal (coloured block). But there are obstacles you must face to get through to reach the "goal". I started and have a good startup page with GUI.

Here is the problem:

I want to make the dot as like those "snake games". The dot starts going in a "up" direction until another direction is pressed. When you push right it turn right and goes at a steady pace until another direction is put in. The problem with my code right now is that you have to hold the up button for it to continuously go up. Now any help is "good help" but remember, I just started turing so not to complex. And if you do help and it is complex just briefly explain so I can understand it.

Here is the part of a code which I started.

code:
var x,y: int
x:=20
y:=20
var chars: array char of boolean

%Draw Backgorund Colour
    drawfillbox(0,0,560,350,black)

loop

Input.KeyDown (chars)
            if chars (KEY_UP_ARROW) then
            if y <= 348 then
                y:=y+1
                end if
            end if
            if chars (KEY_RIGHT_ARROW) then