Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Snake help please
Index -> Programming, Turing -> Turing Help
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
jrblast

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 7:27 pm   Post subject: Snake help please

Well, im making a snake game, i dont have computer sciences, but my friends do (class was full, so i didnt get it Crying or Very sad ) but, i started playing with turing last week, (so dont expect my code to be good) and now im trying to make a snake game, so far...not too bad...except i cant figure out how to give the dot a tail, now i dont expect (or want) someone to finish the game for me, i just want a basic explanation of how i might make a tail, the source is 150 lines so far (well, about) so ill attach it so you dont have to scroll a billion lines to post...lol

o, and so far i have a tail, but its just a straight one

snake.t
 Description:
what i have so far of snake

Download
 Filename:  snake.t
 Filesize:  3.2 KB
 Downloaded:  155 Time(s)

Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
[Gandalf]

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:36 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Oi... indent your code. Look up flexible arrays, and make your snake game grid-based. Store the last location (on the grid if you are using one of each 'part' of the snake in the flexible array, and add an element when you 'eat' something.

Also, when properly used, you should only have one View.Update in your program. Your use of it in this case is strange, g2g

The code is exceptional for 1 week of experience, great job!
jrblast

PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 9:43 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

[Gandalf] wrote: