Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 C VS C++
Index -> Programming, C++ -> C++ Help
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
Flikerator

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 7:44 pm   Post subject: C VS C++

Im a good programmer if I don't say so myself. After starting several programs in turing and them failing because its not powerfull enough I have decided to start C, or C++.

I need to know what the difference is between the two, so I can choose which one to learn. Thanks for your time ^^
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Tony

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:39 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

the two languages are quite destinct and serve different purposes. What is it that you're trying to achieve?
wtd

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:54 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Tony wrote:
the two languages are quite destinct and serve different purposes. What is it that you're trying to achieve?

If the intention is to go nuts trying to accomplish even the simplest tasks, I'd wholeheartedly recommend either language to a newbie.
Flikerator

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:09 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

I just need to know the differences between them so I can decide which would be suited for making programs and possibly video games.
[Gandalf]

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 5:14 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Game making is a long step from learning a language like C++ right after only Turing. Once you learn most of the actual language, to make a decent graphical game you would have to learn something like OpenGL or DirectX, which is really another thing altogether... Most games/programs nowadays are made in mostly C++, since it's newer, object oriented, and some other things.

If you really want a comparison, look here (it has some other languages as well):