Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 All this worthless .NET sutff (c#.net,VB.net,etc)
Index -> General Programming
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
syntax0r

PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:12 pm   Post subject: All this worthless .NET sutff (c#.net,VB.net,etc)

I am quite new to programming, so I am not sure what this .NET stuff is by Microsoft.

I am confused, and I'm wondering if a human (not a search engine, as its results don't answer me) could respond, allowing me to understand some of my queries.

I did a little of Turing, Visual VB 6 and now Visual C#.

I noticed that VB 6 is different from VB.NET. The HORRIBLE thing is that VB.NET (successor to VB 6) will compile .EXEs that don't work on many computers as of now. I am not sure why, but I assume it's something to do with this .NET stuff, which requires all of us to have it installed for any VB.NET compiled .EXE to work.

Now, WHAT is the point of making programs that only you and a few other people (comparatively) can execute?

I made a simple "Hello World" program from VB.Net (Express 2005 Beta 2 Edition, I believe), and it won't work on all of my friends' computers.

That sucks.

So I just gave up on VB.NEt and went to the "good ol'" Visual Basic 6. I made a few programs, and all of them worked Very Happy!!!

Well sadly enough, I've heard VB 6 is "DEAD."

That sucks.

So I kind of gave up VB 6 (I still like it due to easiness and compatibility w/ all Win XX OSes), and went to C# (supposedly the "improved" version of C++.

Well, guess what? None of the programs I created work on my friends' computer as well.

That sucks.

So, I comes down to this:

-Stick with the old VB 6

-Find a way VB.NET and C#.NET compiled programs to work on most computers.