Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 nortron -another tron game
Index -> Programming, Turing -> Turing Submissions
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicRate TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2005 8:30 pm   Post subject: nortron -another tron game

Current Version: 2.2.5, found on next page!
Hi there, this is my first project that I've really spent some time on. Its called NorTron, and is a pretty much a basic tron type game. You and a partner (havn't gotten comp. AI working that well yet) control lines and the objective is to get your oponent to hit a line, either theirs, the arenas lines, or yours. However, I've had some things (well, one right now) and that is a turbo. When you press the corrosponding turbo key for your line, it will give you a slight increase in speed for a few seconds. This is a little buggy though, because in the right circumstance it will allow you to go through lines. Anyway, tell my what you think and what you think I could add Smile Instructions in the game (which btw is about 587 lines, loads of comments though).
[edit]
Well, I'm still working on it and will continue to do so until I hand it in and I have updated much of it. I can't remember what is different, so I will just list all the things.
-2 players
-dumb computer AI, but it does have it, so you can play 1 player
-change player names
-change keys from original
-in a game, press 'F1' to view the help screen, 'p' to pause the game, 'Esc' to quit the game (completly exits)
-scoring
-turbo and you can lay 'bombs'
-maybe some other things I can't remember
-------------------------------------------