Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Question about input
Index -> Programming, C++ -> C++ Help
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
resq

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 10:51 am   Post subject: Question about input

I'm just learning C++ so there are somethings that are confusing me. i am using g++ on linux to complie my programs.

I have this database of employee records. I am trying to create the user interface for this database. Now how do I make it so I can input commands plus their parameters in one line?

ie) some commands are:
newrec number- makes a new record with 'number' as employee number
printdb - prints the employee records
update number firstname lastname - updates a record with emplloyee number and adds a first name and last name

ok. the problem for me is being able to handle many or no parameters.
if I did this:
string command;
int parameter1;
cin << command << number;
You see that can handle the first command of creating a newrec. But what if I wanted to printdb instead? When I compile and run it, i type printdb, but it is still waiting for another input for parameter1.

I tried doing it another way,
char command[100];
cin.getline(command, 100);
so it takes in the whole line. I use strstr(command, "newrec") to see if it is the newrec command. But for this, I do not know how I would go about extracting the integers for the employee number.

So how can I fix either one of my implementations. Or is there another way I am not seeing? thanks.
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Tony

PostPosted: Sun Feb 06, 2005 12:01 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

you're in the right direction with the second approach - you got to get the entire line.

afterwards you split the line up by spaces and put individual words/numbers into arrays.