Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Where do i start?
Index -> Programming, C++ -> C++ Help
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
apomb

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 2:16 pm   Post subject: Where do i start?

I am starting C++, what would be the best place to start (code wise). Some of you might remember me from the Turing section, so i have some background in that and some java, although not extensive, i do know syntax and whatnot, and i hear C++ and java are similar in those respects. Anyway, is it better to start with pure syntax or just try to create from what i already know? please suggest

- Compwiz
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Andy

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 2:30 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

for noobies, i suggest VC6... it does lack stability and consistancy, but it'll work... start by remaking the old progs u did in other languages in c++, just dont do any graphics cuz then u'd have to use MFC/Direct X/OGL and all three are quite painful for starters
wtd

PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2004 3:01 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Absolutely not!

Visual C++ 6 is one of the worst C++ compilers available in terms of standards compliance. There's nothing worse for a student than being shown valid code and getting errors when compiling it.

GCC is available free and does a far better job than VC++6.

As for "Where to start?"...

I would start with basic concepts and then apply syntax to them.

Do you understand:

• ... the purpose of main?
  • ... how to use includes and what they do?
  • ... how to declare variables and assign values to them?
  • ... how to create functions and procedures?

• ... the difference between a function and a procedure?
    • ... how to specify that a function or procedure has a parameter?