Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 I am new to the world of programming
Index -> General Discussion
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
mummified zombie

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 6:30 pm   Post subject: I am new to the world of programming

Hi I just created an acount on this site cause i came across it on msn. I now basic html and want to learn how to make first person shooter games in the long run. I have been facinated with computers as long as i can remember but i have had no place to learn how to program. If any one could tell me were i can find a tutorial on the easiest game creation program that is preferable downloadable for free.

ty all

Twisted Evil mummified zombie Twisted Evil
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
wtd

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 6:50 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

I don't think it's as simple as you think.

Your path will likely look something like:

1. Become more familiar with the fundamentals of computers. What they're made of, how those parts work together, etc.
  2. Learn the fundamentals of programming.
  3. Learn object-oriented programming techniques.
  4. Learn the details of pointers and memory management.
  5. Pick up a set of tools for dealing with 3D graphics, sound, etc. and play with them until you've got a handle on how they work.
Anime Freak

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2004 7:51 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

i was mummified zombie but i changed to this cause i didn't like the other name ><, .

Can u guys help me with learning all about the computer. if there r ne experience computer programmers or game programmers that live close to calgary, alberta (within a 1 hour drive) plz tell me and we can talk at a later time
Paul