Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 A Beginner
Index -> Programming, Java -> Java Help
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
TheFerret

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 10:52 am   Post subject: A Beginner

I am completely new to programming in Java but I will be taking CompSci in grade 11 first thing, first semister and am trying to learn some Java now so I can get a little bit of a head start but I am not sure where to start out... I do have an editor, Netbeans IDE ver. 3.6...
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
wtd

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 12:01 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Try Sun's Java tutorial.
Kingnoz

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 12:20 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

You could also try using the Tutorials section. There is some stuff on the basics such as arrays, datafiles, strings, etc.
wtd

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 12:37 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

And it never hurts to give other programming languages a try. Java can be a bit much syntactically.
TheFerret

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 1:35 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Yeah, I forgot one thing in my first post, I know Turing a lot and am pretty good at it...
wtd

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:00 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Good. Now what do you know about object-oriented programming?
TheFerret

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:45 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

That the more you do, the better you get at it...

(If you are saying that it sucks, then it does... But, if you are not saying that, then it does not suck...)
Tony

PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2004 5:57 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Confused
I think he has no idea what OOP is Thinking
Latest from compsci.ca/blog: Tony's programming blog. DWITE - a programming contest.
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor