Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Using a "main.cpp" file to run several other .cpp files
Index -> Programming, C++ -> C++ Help
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
Aange10

PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2015 6:18 pm   Post subject: Using a "main.cpp" file to run several other .cpp files

Hello! I'm an undergraduate at university and I've elected to take C++. I am using Microsoft Visual Studio 12.0 to handle my C++ projects. Thank you in advance for you assistance.

My class uses an online IDE for the majority of all assigned homework. However, today my instructor assigned problems 1-10 out of our textbooks to do at home with our visual studio IDE.

To begin my homework I followed a simple tutorial to make my first C++ project. I named the file Challenge1.cpp, and I successfully answered challenge number one. Next, on the left hand side of my screen there is a window named Solution Explorer to which I moused over a folder titled Source files and I right clicked to Add, and then add new item. I created another CPP file with the name Challenge2.cpp and I proceeded to answer question number two.

As you can imagine, the compiler errored because I have tried to have two main() functions in a single project. I understand that executables require there to be one main() function.
I have now created a third file main.cpp in hopes that this one file can hold my one main() function, and I can change the name of the functions held in the other files.

Before I state my problem, let me review that I have created three files in my project. Challenge1.cpp, Challenge2.cpp, main.cpp

Now, my problem is as follows: