Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Is it worth switching from UofT to uWaterloo?
Index -> Student Life
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
ProgrammingFun

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:28 am   Post subject: Is it worth switching from UofT to uWaterloo?

I am currently studying CS at UofT and initially wanted to transfer to Waterloo (having already spoken with their admissions department).
However, with the recent university ratings ranking UofT much higher in general, I'm now confused. I know I will likely pursue a graduate degree after my undergrad (not sure if immediately after).
Would it be worth switching to Waterloo for undergrad and then switching back for a graduate degree (taking benefit of it's coop program)?
The alternative could be staying at UofT, taking PEY, and independently applying for internships for the summer (I have friends who could give me access to UTSC and uWaterloo's coop databases).

I know Tony has said before that employers generally regard Canadian universities as Waterloo/UofT and then everything else, but I'm now wondering which would be more worthwhile.

Thanks.
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
crossley7

PostPosted: Tue Oct 29, 2013 9:53 am   Post subject: RE:Is it worth switching from UofT to uWaterloo?

They are both viewed as relatively equal in terms of undergrad from my experience, however U of T gets ranked higher generally because they are considered the stronger research university generally with more resources. However, all else being equal, the difference between Waterloo and Toronto undergrad programs is negligible and the co-op program, location are the primary differences between the 2.