Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 CS Masters effort vs Undergrad -- amount of effort
Index -> Student Life
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
knowthyself

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 4:16 pm   Post subject: CS Masters effort vs Undergrad -- amount of effort

Hi,

I'm interested in getting some opinions on how the amount of required effort differs between Masters and Undergrad CS. I'm in my 4th year of CS (at Ryerson if it matters), and I'm considering applying for grad school. The caveat is that I'm a mature student who has worked through undergrad to support myself. I've been able to maintain roughly an A average while putting in 15-20 hrs per week at my job. In order to finance grad school, I'm pretty certain I would need to keep working. Though there may be funding during masters, I don't want to make any assumptions about that. So, should I expect that doing a masters degree (2 years at Ryerson for example, or mention your experience with your own universities) would require roughly the same effort, less effort, or more effort than undergrad?

I'm meeting the program director this week to discuss, but if anyone here can share their experience, that would be great too.

Thanks.
Jeff
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
mirhagk

PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2013 8:33 pm   Post subject: RE:CS Masters effort vs Undergrad -- amount of effort

I think it'd be very dependent on the school, the type of grad studies, and your professor.