Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 What kind of post secondary education will lead to a programming job?
Index -> Student Life
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
Happyfist

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 12:26 pm   Post subject: What kind of post secondary education will lead to a programming job?

Hello everyone. I am considering a career in programming, specifically cell phone app development, but I could do general programming. Right now I have zero practical knowledge of programming and I was considering what kind of course to take. My questions are below.

1) Will a one year course be enough to snag a programming job? A fellow from Toronto told me a one year course is not good enough to obtain any job but he wasn't a programmer specifically.

2) If I take a programming course online, perhaps a 1-2 year course, will that be viewed as sufficient by employers? I don't imagine that online programming courses are frowned upon by companies.

3)Should I take a 3-4 year degree at a university?

Yeah, my primary concern is just getting a job after I finish and supporting myself while I formally learn.

Your informed opinion and advice is appreciated. FYI, I am Canadian in Nova Scotia and I presently have a little money saved and no debt.
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Raknarg

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 1:12 pm   Post subject: RE:What kind of post secondary education will lead to a programming job?

Experience is most important. Basically your education is suppose to be a foot in the door.

My best bet would be an actual university degree to help you get in. Otherwise, if you have no credentials, it will be hard to convince employers you're worth their time.