Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Newb question
Index -> Web Design
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
LDR-

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 6:34 pm   Post subject: Newb question

Hi. I'm very new to web design, but I am really eager to learn. I would like to know some names of some comprehensive text books that will help me learn how to put together a website. Any clues towards some good authors in the area or some names of some good textbooks is greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance.
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
RandomLetters

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 7:03 pm   Post subject: RE:Newb question

Art of Computer Programming by Donald Knuth
LDR-

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:09 pm   Post subject: RE:Newb question

Expensive volumes. They've received very good reviews though. Thank you.
DemonWasp

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:10 pm   Post subject: RE:Newb question

I'm not sure what RandomLetters is banging on about; his suggestion is a book about algorithms with examples in a hypothetical assembly language (not useful for web development by any stretch of the imagination).

Book-wise, you'd be best to find an O'Reilly book (http://oreilly.com/) on the languages / technologies you want to learn and start there. You can pick up the required knowledge piecemeal by searching the Internet, but for a comprehensive education you need to read a LOT, whether in a book or on the Internet. Probably better to start with a book.
ProgrammingFun

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 8:52 pm   Post subject: RE:Newb question