Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Please Help If You Can? Total beginner making a video game.
Index -> Programming, Visual Basic and Other Basics -> Visual Basic Help
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
vbnoob

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:17 pm   Post subject: Please Help If You Can? Total beginner making a video game.

Hello all,

As my name and topic of this topic suggests, I am a TOTAL beginner with visual basic (and with computer programming in general). I had this incredibly ambious goal to make a video game and so I am teaching myself/relying on kindness and knowledge of others as I go along. So far I have learned a lot, however needless to say, this is a monstrously difficult challenge, however one that I am very passionate about completing. The idea is that I am making a trading card style game and I was hoping that I could keep continue using this thread and your kindness to keep me going throughout this challenge.

So, here is where I am now.

I have created a card class with two properties. name and picture with name As String, and picture as PictureBox. the constructor looks like this:

Public Sub New(ByVal name As String, ByVal picture As PictureBox)
_name = name
_picture = picture
End Sub

I have set up two arrays of cards. The first, a list of the cards in the game and the second is a list of the players deck. they look like this:

Public baseSetCardList(102) As card
baseSetCardList(0) = New card("cardName1", cardPicture1)
baseSetCardList(1) = New card("cardName2", cardPicture2)
baseSetCardList(101) = New card("cardName102", cardPicture102)

Public playerDeck(60) As card
playerDeck(0) = baseSetCardList(7)
playerDeck(1) = baseSetCardList(23)
playerDeck(59) = baseSetCardList(97)