Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Living off bytes .... I wonder
Index -> Programming, Turing -> Turing Submissions
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicRate TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
darkangel

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 7:26 pm   Post subject: Living off bytes .... I wonder

In the back of my head ever since i started my life as a programmer, i have always wanted to make a life simulator. But i always shoved it aside.
This urge has now started eating away at my brain and is now forcing me to begin creating it. Yet one problem stands in my way, what should my life simulator keep track of?
Then i thought that maybe the many people of CompSci might be able to assist me?.

what i have in my life simulator as of now is;

lifeRemaining -how long till it dies
lifeLived -how long its lived from when it was born
social -its sociability (the higher it is the more "people" will be attracted to that person)
intelligence -how smart it is (will effect social and if, when, and how they "level up")
gender -M or F
level -its current "level" at which it is living (could be a scholar, business man, hobo, samerai, whatever...)

I would life to stay away from "hunger" and things like that, im assuming that my people will be able to sustain themselves with food. But if it calls for it i will put it in.
But other than that what else could i add? And how should it work? Should the people be controlled by the user? or is it all done automatically? or does the user "suggest" where the person should go and the person decides for himself? I don't know.

What are you suggestions...
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Tony

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 7:35 pm   Post subject: Re: Living off bytes .... I wonder

darkangel @ Tue May 06, 2008 7:26 pm wrote: