Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 String- Vowel Count in Java
Index -> Programming, Java -> Java Help
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
chimosfinest

PostPosted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:21 am   Post subject: String- Vowel Count in Java

Im taking a grade 11 programming course and i have never programmed before this semester i am working on a program that promps the user to enter a string then it counts the amount of vowels. My trouble is getting it to check each letter without having to type
if((currentLetter == a)||(currentLetter == e)||(currentLetter == i)||(currentLetter == o)||(currentLetter == u))
{
vowelCount = (vowelCount + 1);
}
So i tryed to loop it with a do-while statement which compares each character to all vowels while (charNUm < textLength) charNum is my variable for the index of substring and textLength is the total length of the inputed string. this is my program script.
//Write a program that checks whether two words are anagrams. Two words are anagrams if they contain the
//same letters in any order. For example, "silent" and "listen" are anagramsimport java.util.Scanner;

import java.util.Scanner;
public class VowelCount
{
public static void main(String[] args)
{
Scanner input = new Scanner(System.in);
//Title
System.out.println("Vowel Count ");
//Prompt for first word\
System.out.println("Please enter the text. ");
String text = input.next();
//Declare and initialize output string
String output = "";
//Variables
int charNum = 0;
int charNumPlus =(charNum + 1);
int vowelCount= 0;
String a= ("a");
String e= ("e");
String i= ("i");
String o= ("o");
String u= ("u");
//Count
int textLength = text.length();
do
{

String currentLetter = text.substring(charNum,charNumPlus);
System.out.print(currentLetter);
//check for vowel