Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Which courses should I take in highschool for either CS or CE? Question about which would suit me best...
Index -> Student Life
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
jaymon333

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:27 pm   Post subject: Which courses should I take in highschool for either CS or CE? Question about which would suit me best...

Hello,

I am a grade 10 student living in Ontario near Toronto. I hope to eventually make it too Waterloo in either CS or CE (Computer Engineering)

Aside from the obvious courses such as Computer Engineering and Computer Sciences available at my school, what other courses must/do you recommend I take?

I hear a lot of talk about science courses and math courses, but which strands of these branches do I take. I'm so confused on which high school courses to chose because for one, many different math courses listed at my school are:

- Advanced Functions (University)
- Mathematics of Data Management (University)
- Mathematics for College Technology
- Calculus and Vectors (University)
- Foundation for college math
- Mathematics for work and every day life (these are all grade 12 courses offered at my school)

AS YOU CAN SEE I HAVE NO IDEA WHICH ONES TO CHOSE FOR EITHER CS OR CE.

Also there are all the science courses:

- Biology (University)
- Chemistry (University)
- Chemistry (College)
- Physics (University)
- Physics (college)

And out of these courses I don't know which ones to chose!

Can some one please give me some guidance on which courses in High school I must take, or if their are no mandatory courses, which ones do you recommend? And did I leave any courses out that you recommend?

P.S I can't decide to go into CS or CE, so here are some of my likes with computers: