Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Which is a better Comp Sc Degree
Index -> Student Life
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
Junaith

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:11 am   Post subject: Which is a better Comp Sc Degree

Hi Friends,
I am a graduate in Info Tech. I would like to continue my studies in IT/Comp Sc. I want to be either an R&D personnel or Software Engineer or programmer in my career path.

Different institutes or offering different variants of this IT/Comp Sc courses. Some offer Maths and more on Software Engineering while others offer no Maths at all and a bit of Software Engineering.

Can please advice me if I enroll in a program with no Maths at all and a bit of Software Engineering, will I be able to achieve my carrier ambitions ( R&D personnel or Software Engineer or Programmer)?

Can also please tell me why Maths is so imporatnt to IT/Comp Sc and how it can be applied in creating a software e.g. RDBMS like Oracle.

Please guide me in this.

Many thanks in advance.

Junaith
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Martin

PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:10 am   Post subject: RE:Which is a better Comp Sc Degree

Math is important because it creates strong problem solving and critical thinking skills. Computers are creatures that are built upon mathematics, and so a solid understanding of those building blocks will be a huge asset. You might for example write a function in your program and want to determine how quickly it runs and how much memory it will use for an arbitrarily sized set of data. Also, if you want to do anything with computer graphics, a strong mathematical foundation is essential.