Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 what are the big programming contests?
Index -> Contests
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
iluvchairs112

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:03 pm   Post subject: what are the big programming contests?

I'm new to programming and I've researched some programming contests but I'd like to know which contests you guys enter ... and the dates of them. even if they aren't until like next year, just so that I can get an idea.
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Cervantes

PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:21 pm   Post subject: RE:what are the big programming contests?

One of the big ones in Canada is the CCC: Canadian Computing Competition. It's hosted by the University of Waterloo. If you do well on it, you can go to the nationals, Stage 2, which is in Waterloo. If you do well there, you can go to the international competition.
The CCC just passed. It's hosted anually in February. Google will give you tons of information on it.

There's also the DWITE competition, which is much smaller. It was intended to be preparation for the CCC. It's being transfered to yours truly, CompSci.ca, beginning next year.
PaulButler

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:48 am   Post subject: RE:what are the big programming contests?

Aside from local competitions, here are some of the ones I have come across recently:

Canadian Computing Competition (as Cervantes mentioned) (Annual, February)
Microsoft Imagine Cup (Annual, September - June)
Google Code Jam (Annual, September - ?)
TopCoder (Annual, I think)
DWITE (again, as Cervantes mentioned) (Annual, February?)