Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Turing VS C++ (Recursive Counting)
Index -> Programming, C++ -> C++ Submissions
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicRate TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
Flikerator

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:59 am   Post subject: Turing VS C++ (Recursive Counting)

Turing VS C++ in speed has always been clear, ill make it a little clearer;

C++
code:
#include <iostream>

int Count (int n);

int main()
{
   std::cout << Count (1) << std::endl;
   std::cin.ignore();
}

int Count (int n)
{
    std::cout << n << std::endl;
    return Count (n+1);
}

Turing
code:

procedure Count (n : int)
    put n
    Count (n + 1)
end Count

Count (1)

I just started learning C++ again. I scrapped it in the light of competing, but im back now that I have no competitions until next year. Feel free to criticize my code ^_^
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
jamonathin

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 12:20 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

C++ wins again. One thing you may want to use is:
c++:

using namespace std;

Im not shure the difference between using it or not, but i would rathe write that once then std:: a million times.
Flikerator

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:22 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Nah I prefer to use "std::" instead of including namespace. Thanks though =P

I think C++ will usually win =P
wtd

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:43 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

There are lots of optimized compiled languages. You should also be concerned with the ease with which you can write programs in a given language. Here C++ is not necessarily going to be a winner.
Andy

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 4:50 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

a couple of things,

functions usually dont start with capitals
your main is missing a return statement