Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Learning Java. Is there any compiler.
Index -> Programming, Java -> Java Help
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
aserghuil

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 3:41 pm   Post subject: Learning Java. Is there any compiler.

I was wondering if java has any compiler program like turing. I am new to java and i want to self teach my self so if there is any way to get a compiler or any other way to practise java please tell me thanks.
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
[Gandalf]

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 4:20 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

You can find the compiler, and anything else you will need at java.sun.com.
person

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:02 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

If you have learnt turing before, I would suggest that you use something like eReady, this way the code you have writen will be organized in a somewhat familiar format while in a completely different language.

If you don't want to use eReady, I would suggest that you use Eclipse or Netbeans.
wtd

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:15 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Yes, let's confuse learning the Java programming language with learning a particular environment for dealing with Java code.

Learn to use the command-line tools. They're simple and consistent.
person

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:24 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

If he starts off using something like NetBeans, he's likely to get pretty confused by how confusing the environment looks. NetBeans also has many functions that you really don't need if you're starting to learn the language.
aserghuil

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2006 8:59 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Thanks for the help i really really appericiate this.
MysticVegeta