Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Linux for PowerPC.
Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
Martin

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:04 am   Post subject: Linux for PowerPC.

I know it exists, but does anyone have any experience with it? Is it painful setting up a dual-boot between it and OSX? Also, is there any (preferably Debian based) distro that stands out on the architecture?
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
wtd

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 2:43 am   Post subject: (No subject)

There's Ubuntu for PPC, which should be pretty good, though I have no direct experience with it.
rizzix

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 11:17 am   Post subject: (No subject)

me either... but try YDL?
wtd

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 1:19 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

YellowDog used to be the best choice, but the feature list is really outdated, and it's based on Fedora, and Martin did specify a preference for something Debian-based.

Speaking of which, there's always Debian itself. Smile
Martin

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 6:18 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Haha, yeah, I know.

I was more wondering if there was a distro that specialized in the PowerPC. I think I'm going to go with Ubuntu, I like that one a lot.
Hikaru79

PostPosted: Thu Nov 24, 2005 6:34 pm   Post subject: (No subject)

Martin wrote:
I was more wondering if there was a distro that specialized in the PowerPC.

Yeah, the "Yellow Dog Linux" distro that rizzix mentioned is *specifically* targetted at the PowerPC, but that doesn't neccesarily mean its the best, and its not Debian-based. Linux installs are short, why not try both first before choosing a definite answer? Smile
goomba

PostPosted: Sat Nov 26, 2005 5:13 pm   Post subject: (No subject)