Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB
Computer Science Canada 
Programming C, C++, Java, PHP, Ruby, Turing, VB  

Username:   Password: 
 RegisterRegister   
 Help me Prepare
Index -> Student Life
Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic Printable versionDownload TopicSubscribe to this topicPrivate MessagesRefresh page View next topic
Elfah

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:22 pm   Post subject: Help me Prepare

I'm a student who wants to be a Software Engineer / Developer.

I'm confused & full-on stressed for the past weeks! I need some help and tips on whats better and stuff.

- Computer Science Co-Op or just Computer Science?
- Would I need to take math courses in university? (I suck at math but awesome at coding)
- I'm probably going to get around 70-75 avg, would Uni's accept me?
- I'm doing horrible in both maths but not too bad & Probably receiving a 80% in English.
- Is computer science hard, medium, easy in university?
- Is Ryerson a good university to apply to?
- Is Guelph Humber a good university to apply to?

Please help me & clear out my thoughts, I've been stressing like crazy these past weeks...
Sponsor
Sponsor
Sponsor
sponsor
Raknarg

PostPosted: Mon Sep 30, 2013 8:49 pm   Post subject: RE:Help me Prepare

1) As far as I can tell, absolute yes for co op. Im pretty sure almost all jobs ask for at least three years of relevant experience, getting that on your own will be more difficult (though not impossible, mind you)

2) You will probably need to take math courses. I cant speak for every university and every program, but Im in general comp sci and I have a bunch of math I need to take. Get to work studying, math is a very useful skill in programming.

3) Maybe Carleton, but dont rely on a 70-75. Get at least an 80, if not more. Think of the scholarships!