----------------------------------- rk_rkade Mon Apr 12, 2004 6:31 pm Records ----------------------------------- :wink: :oops: hey guys.... umm im kinda embaressed to say this but i'm a newb, and i have no dam clue on how to make and edit a record.... i read dodge_tomahawk's tutorial, but i ran it and it didn't ask me to input anything :? .... i want to be able to input names, addresses, telephone #s, etc. so i kinda need help desperately :shock: .... i'd appriciate it if anyone can explain it to me.... thanks :D ----------------------------------- Tony Mon Apr 12, 2004 7:00 pm ----------------------------------- well records are used to group a number of variables into a group to create types. Such as a 2D point type will contain both X and Y coordinates of the point rether then having 2 separate variables. type person: record name:string age:int end record var me:person me.name := "tony" me.age := 18 here instead having to declear separate variables for name and age, a record is created to hold both. A variable is decleared to be of that type and contains every variable field inside of itself. records are usually used in conjunction with arrays ----------------------------------- EDEN-E Mon Apr 12, 2004 10:37 pm or ----------------------------------- or you can declare variable like following without 'type' var me: record name:string age:int end record me.name := "edne-e" me.age := 16 put me.name put me.age ----------------------------------- rk_rkade Thu Apr 15, 2004 5:52 pm ----------------------------------- :D :) :D :) :D :) YAY! thanks a lot guys.....but, how can i type the name/age as a variable instead of a constant? and also, how can i save it in a text file?? :oops: :oops: :oops: thanx again guys.... ----------------------------------- AsianSensation Thu Apr 15, 2004 6:30 pm ----------------------------------- like you would save any other string. type SomeType : record X, Y : real; Clr : int; end record; var Object: SomeType; Object.X := 5.6; Object.Y :