----------------------------------- grasshopper Mon Mar 29, 2004 4:38 pm A Loop program ----------------------------------- i need help writing a program.. i`m just testing loops.. and i`m not sure how to print this but i just want to try.. anyone know the code? I need to write a program which produces sets of triangles like these: **** *** ** * * ** *** **** - ->I need to allow the user to deteremine how many sets of triangles will be produced.. I know I need this using TextIO... I started programming this using a `for loop`. and then got stuck.... any suggestions? thanksss ----------------------------------- Tony Mon Mar 29, 2004 5:08 pm ----------------------------------- well first you'll need a function to compile your line of astrics, similar to turing's repeat string repeat(int size) { String word = new String; word = ""; for (int i=0;ito print the dots, use System.out.print(".") inside a loop body - ->might need the following code String inputString; Int times; .... Times= inputstring.length() //times will hold the number of characters in inputString i don`t know how i`d program that and if i`d use a while or for loop this is my strcutre so far. (without the public static void main...etc.. etc..) //Variable Declaration String usersName; //the user's name String inputString; int times; //will hold the number of characters in inputString int mark; //Variable Initialization and Input System.out.print("Please enter your name: "); //prompt for input usersName = TextIO.getln(); //read from keyboard System.out.println("Please enter a mark: "); mark = TextIO.getlnInt(); //Program Processing and Output // the process and output i don`t get :cry: :cry: help? ----------------------------------- Dan Mon Apr 05, 2004 4:28 pm ----------------------------------- TextIO eh? i dont think that is a standered I/O method, u using the Robot java text book by any chance? any way that dose not matter. This is what i think u need: int length = usersName.length() + 11; if(mark >= 1