----------------------------------- jonos Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:51 pm physics and applying it to programming ----------------------------------- im trying to learn how to apply physics (grade 10) to programming, but its really hard, and im not very good at that kind of stuff. if anyone wants to post something that could be helpful, and easy to understand, it would be really good for me and some other people who may not know what to do. ive heard catalyst can explain this stuff good.... :D ----------------------------------- Tony Sat Feb 21, 2004 12:34 am ----------------------------------- I dont think thats the way it works... you dont just learn a concept and stick that into your program. Its rether you're writing a program and you're required to use a specific approach. Oftentimes in games you would be required to model physically correct situations, and thats where knowledge comes in. So how about you tell us what you want to know, and we'll fill you in ----------------------------------- jonos Sat Feb 21, 2004 9:30 am ----------------------------------- well i was bothering shorthair about this, and i was trying to get realistic acceleration and speed. this is what i got: this has nothing to do with the formula a=v/t (i think) which i was trying to apply, but this is all i could work out: setscreen ("graphics:700, 100") var a : int := maxy div 2 var b, c : int := 1 loop drawline (20, 0, 20, maxy, black) drawline (maxx - 20, 0, maxx - 20, maxy, black) drawoval (a, maxy div 2, 5, 5, brightred) a := a + b b := b + 1 c := b exit when a > maxx - 20 delay (25) cls end loop ----------------------------------- Cervantes Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:24 am ----------------------------------- Why do you have c in there? It isn't doing anything :think: I know where you're coming from Jonos. I wanna learn physics too :( But you can't expect to learn all the physics you need from compsci. I think we're just gunna have to wait until gr 11 :cry: But in the time being, just copy code from