----------------------------------- adamniazi Sat Sep 22, 2012 5:35 pm Degree in Computer Science or Diploma in Computers and technology ----------------------------------- Hi I was hoping someone on here could help me with a decision I am trying to make. I was a student at York University trying to get into the computer science program but have been required to withdraw from school due to poor marks. I spent the last 2 and a half years in school unsure of what I wanted to do and bounced around from Finance to IT and in the course of taking some IT courses, realized computer science was the right choice for me. But since I have been asked to withdraw I have been considering other options, such as getting a diploma from a college or going to a different university with a better computer science program. Either way, I would like to do co-op. The two programs I am considering are listed below with a link to the program description; Computer Systems Technology - Software Development and Network Engineering Co-op http://www.sheridancollege.ca/Programs%20and%20Courses/Full-Time%20Programs/Programs%20A-Z%20Index/Computer%20Systems%20Technology%20-%20Software%20Development%20and%20Network%20Engineering%20Co-op.aspx Computer Systems Technology Program http://www.georgebrown.ca/T147-2012-2013/ Both of these are diploma programs and are starting in coming January. What I am trying to figure out is how much do employers favour a degree over a diploma, if at all. I know the second one is completely networking where as the first teaches some programming and computer science. I have been trying to get details on job placement rates for these two programs but have not been able to find anything other than what is claimed by the colleges. If employers are more inclined to favour degree holders over diploma holders, most likely I would prefer to go to Ryerson University's co-op program. If there is anyone in the industry who could comment on this to help me out or if there are any em